jump to navigation

Show Off, Advice, Moon December 26, 2007

Posted by jeninmaine in Etsy, knitting, sewing.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I have crafty stuff I want to show off, ask for input, and make grabby hands at, all in that order.

Show Off: I mentioned I made beanbags for Michael and baby Katy. I didn’t end up making a set for Kaitlynn as I ran out of time and the kid has a bazillion plastic toys anyway. These were my “proof of concept” beanbags from when I first came up with the idea to try them – I made two sets of six each at approximately 4.5″ x 4.5″ each, then put them in drawstring bags made from coordinating fabric.

I think the bags came out wicked cute:
Beanbags for the kids, Xmas 2007 (by jeninmaine)

And then the beanbags weren’t too shabby, either:
Beanbags for the kids, Xmas 2007 (by jeninmaine)

The beans I had on hand were kind of bulky and I was worried about someone getting beaned by them (ha ha) so I opted to use basmati rice instead. It smells great!

Both of the kids seem to love these things. Katy immediately started playing with hers and both she and the kidlet had a great time tossing them around. We’ve already made up a handful of games to play with them with the kidlet, they’re a super indoor toy for those days you can’t blow off steam outside and they no doubt help him practice hand-eye coordination. I had been waffling over whether or not to bother making any for my Etsy shop, but after seeing how such a simple toy can get kidlets psyched up I am definitely going to try and crank out a few sets.

Need Input: A month or so back I got these seven skeins of Bergen du Nord Charmant in color 2153 for a song from someone destashing on Ravelry.

Bergen du Nord Charmant, color 2153 (by jeninmaine)

It’s a lovely shimmery, soft 50% wool, 50% silk blend single-ply, 131 yards per skein, 5 sts = 1″ on US6 needles making it a DK to worsted weight. I absolutely adore this yarn and this colorway, but I have NO IDEA what to do with it! I need help!

Bergen du Nord Charmant, color 2153

Grabby Hands: WEBS is having a big yarn sale again. Which means I spend lots of time looking at yarn and sighing. With our no-spending-initiative in place I am extra super bummed, because I desperately want 8-10 skeins of the Classic Elite Skye Tweed in Marmalade. It is so gorgeous, and of course discontinued therefore once it’s gone, too bad, sucka. I keep refreshing to see the number of skeins remaining dwindle because I like to torture myself like that.

Here’s a lousy little color card from the WEBS site:

I figure if I can’t buy it I can at least moan and make moony-eyes over it.

That’s all the news that’s fit to print at the moment, I’m going to go chill out.

Comments»

1. bevinstalent - December 27, 2007

I LOVE the falling snow!

2. Emily (iknit) - December 27, 2007

The Bergen du Nord Charmant is gorgeous. Clapotis? (Knitty) – you might need to reduce the length a bit though.


Leave a Reply

