jump to navigation

A Tale of Two Hats January 24, 2008

Posted by jeninmaine in bebeh-to-be, knitting.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I wanted to knit a hat to go with the booties I made for my coworker’s baby, but I needed something that would fit a 3-6 month old as I’m a terrible slacker and didn’t have these done before the baby was actually born, so…

I spent a lot of time looking for patterns, both online and in the myriad of books I own. I just wanted something simple but in an attractive design with a shape and good decreases. I finally found my pattern – the Cupcake Baby Hat at Slumberland.org. There’s a link to the PDF in the second paragraph.

I really liked the idea of the tall sides and then a round dome on top, thinking it would look good in the same yarn I used for the booties I made out of the Saartje’s Bootees pattern. The pattern calls for worsted weight yarn and size 8 dpns so I first tried doubling the fingering yarn to see how it would work:

Cupcake Hat #1 (by jeninmaine)

It actually worked out okay, the resulting hat worked up very quickly and looks cute. I’m not totally thrilled with the pooling but it doesn’t matter all that much. The only thing I didn’t like was that it was really thick, especially compared to the booties which were knitted on size 3 dpns.

So I decided to try another version of the same pattern, only with size 4 dpns and one strand of fingering weight yarn. To approximate the “Baby” sizing I used the “Child” pattern to fudge the gauge as best I could:

Cupcake Hat #2 (by jeninmaine)

I like the second one a lot better, there was some pooling but overall I think it looks more finished, the drape is a lot better, and colorwise it matches the booties a lot better. It came out slightly smaller than the first hat, but the first hat is kind of huge so I don’t think it’ll be a problem. I’m going to save the thicker hat for bebeh-to-be as I think it’ll fit her well next Autumn unless she has a big huge melon head, in which case I’ll hold onto it to give as a shower gift to Jenn.

The pattern is very easy once you understand the whole “top down” concept (which I actually like better as you don’t have to worry about casting on too tightly on the band, casting off loosely is a lot easier) and I did the heavyweight in an evening, the fingering weight in an evening plus an hour or two in assorted spare time.

Here’s the set of booties and hat I’ll be sending to my coworker. I hope she likes them!

Cupcake Hat & Saartje's Bootees (by jeninmaine)

Yarn: Hand-dyed sock yarn from now-defunct Etsy seller :(
Patterns:
Cupcake Hat
Saartje’s Bootees

Comments»

1. milmom - January 25, 2008

Your coworker is bound to love them. They look GREAT!

2. Penny - January 25, 2008

Cute! They both turned out so well! To be little again…and aware of the clothes they put you in….OR, to have pictures of how cute you were.


Leave a Reply

