jump to navigation

Ooo lookie lookie! January 25, 2008

Posted by jeninmaine in spinning.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I finally, finally got around to bidding goodbye to the Ashford Traditional I was renting from the fiber gallery. It was really hard to bid it farewell but I was determined to make a change before the baby arrives.

Sitting in my living room right now, fresh out of the box…

…the Louet S-51DT

Eek! How exciting!

It still stuns me that I can walk out of there for $5 a week with a brand new wheel. It feels like stealing.

I actually got to assemble it (quite simple) and I am the first one to use it! I’ve only spun on it for a few minutes but it is fast, fast, fast. It comes with a high-speed flyer that’s going to take some getting used to – I haven’t yet gotten the hang of the sliding hook doohickey. It’s very different from the Ashford Traditional. It’s much higher so I can’t sit on the couch and spin. I think I’m going to need to get a stool or something, so that’s kind of a bummer. It is very, very solid, however – while the Ashford was needing some tightening, the Louet is bolted together, the pieces fit into deep slots, and it has very few parts so I don’t see it getting creaky on me at all, ever. And as I mentioned, that thing really flies.

I wanted to get my hands on something truly different so I can compare brands, especially before the bebeh-to-be makes her appearance as I’ll be at home a lot immediately afterward. The jury is still out, I’m going to give the Louet a week before forming any opinions.

(yay!)

Comments»

1. milmom - January 27, 2008

WOW! That looks great!

2. trillian42 - January 26, 2008

If you’re looking for a stool and have access to an Ikea, I can HIGHLY recommend the “Traktor” – http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/40074150 – the height on it is adjustable, so I can use it with my Hitchhiker, my Ashford Traddy, OR at my sewing table. :)


Leave a Reply

