jump to navigation

A Tale Of Two Packages. April 17, 2008

Posted by jeninmaine in dyeing, Etsy, knitting.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Names have been withheld to protect the innocent and not-so-innocent.

Oh, lookie here, two packages, the same size box. Though the box on the right is a bit, er, bulgy.

Price charged to ship the box on the left: $8.50. Price charged to ship the box on the right: $5.70.

A Tale of Two Packages

Let us see what’s inside, shall we?

A Tale of Two Packages

Ooo, yarn! Yarny yarn yarn!

Hmm. That doesn’t seem right. I got charged kind of a lot of ship that left package.

So let’s look at the contents of the box on the left in more detail, shall we? I ordered some 100-yard sample skeins of various yarns and a set of “Yarn Samples” that had a description on the website as “Natural undyed yarn samples from the full line of Ashland Bay Trading.”

Here are the sample hanks:

A Tale of Two Packages

Initially I was happy with these, though I did have a little buyer’s remorse as I had spent around $7.50 for each of those skeins. I guess I didn’t really think about how little it would end up being. Maybe I should have just purchased full hanks at a bit more but I’d at least get four times as much yarn. Hmm, okay.

Well, at least I have the samples, right? Something I can dye up and knit a few yards of to see how it looks…

A Tale of Two Packages

Oh. That’s it?

A Tale of Two Packages

I really wouldn’t have an issue except this is a piece of printer paper with holes punched in it, not even a nice piece of cardstock, and the lengths of the yarn vary from eight inches to a scant three or four. Definitely not enough to do anything truly useful with, and definitely not worth the $8.50 I paid for it.

Now let’s look at the contents of the second package. Granted I ordered full 1/2 pound skeins of each yarn so they’re going to look a lot bigger, but while the first vendor’s 100-yard samples were $7.50 and a 1/4-1/3 lb. skein is in the $22-$25 range, the second vendor’s 1/2 pound skeins were only half that. Looking at them next to my puny little samples knowing I paid only about twice that amount for over eight times the yarn made me have buyer’s regret, big time.

A Tale of Two Packages

Just look at all that lovely yarn!

A Tale of Two Packages

It’s no big mystery as to which company I’ll be going with from now on.

(I did, by the way, bother to contact the first company with my concerns and was pretty much blown off. They not only admitted to overcharging me for shipping, but didn’t send the refund the promised (minus their “handling fee” of course) and then proceeded to ignore my emails asking to return everything for a store credit. They did, however, take my suggestion to change the “yarn samples” description to let people know it’s only a bunch of snips on a sheet of paper, then raised the price to $10 to boot so I know they’re getting my emails, just ignoring them. Incidentally the price of the 100-yard skeins has been raised, too. Don’t people always say “If you don’t contact the seller they will never know you’re unhappy and have a chance to improve!” THIS is why. I just end up spending way, WAY too much and getting ignored for my trouble.)

Comments»

1. thekidneybean - April 18, 2008

That is an incredible tale. Amazing the difference. I especially like that they upped the prices, probably because they are struggling to secure repeat buyers!


Leave a Reply

