jump to navigation

I’m in! July 12, 2008

Posted by jeninmaine in spinning.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I received an email back from Katherine and I’m in the Le Tour De Fleece 2008! Very exciting! While I don’t think there are real team-teams I was thinking of forming a Ravelry Completely Pointless and Arbitrary Group group team, though at this point Joy is the only other person taking the bait. Oh well, we can be a two-person team!

My Goal: Get through the rest of this awful Louet roving I’ve had in my stash since 2004. It’s the oldest roving I own and I need to get it out, out, out! I’ve spun all of the grey and plied it with portions of the green and fuchsia, I am currently spinning all of the brown which will be plied with the remainder of the green and fuchsia. Maybe I’ll end up selling them as a set as they’ll all go together.

The colors of the roving aren’t horrible and the resulting yarn is actually quite nice and soft, I’ve just become sort of a roving snob since I bought these commercially-dyed jobbies. Commercial rovings feel dried out to me, now, compared to the rovings I’ve gotten from indie dyers and dyed myself. I’m getting kind of ooged out by the feel of them so I’m just trying to get through them as quickly as I can. So, no photo today – there really isn’t much to show other than a bobbin 3/4 full of boring forest green and another bobbin about 1/3 full of boring brown. Yawn.

The good thing is they’re giving me a great opportunity to break in the Ladybug and really learn how to futz with the Scotch tension and use different whorls. I keep telling myself, “This is a learning experience.” It’s especially hard as I just today received three indie rovings from a destasher on Ravelry and I soooo want to dig into them immediately (along with the big pile of other rovings I’ve already stashed) but no, I had to put them in the bin with the rest and pretend they don’t exist until I’m through this durned Louet.

In retrospect it’s a good thing I don’t have a ton of bobbins a I could totally see myself getting castonitis of the spinning wheel and leaving bits and bobs on them of the things I have no patience for. Sigh. With that, I ought to get back to it so I can do something else!

My secondary goal will be spinning at least one skein using Navajo ply. Aiee!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

