jump to navigation

Wash and thwack, hang to dry. January 5, 2009

Posted by jeninmaine in spinning.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I actually got quite a bit done over the weekend, considering I was feeling sickish and had two kids running around (which Michael wrangled much of the time, I so do not deserve that man). Here are some fiber photos of about half of what I worked on.

It’s bath time!
Yarn bath!

Yarn bath!

This, my friends, is why one must wash yarn, especially if using wool dyed by someone else:
This is why you wash yarn.

Fortunately a couple of rinses fixed that skein, thankfully.

I looked at my other skein (some Shetland from the UK) and ta-daa, a perfect dye job:
This is why you wash yarn.

After thwacking and drying, they looked a bit more presentable and less like soup.

Shetland:
Shetland wool yarn

Shetland wool yarn

Merino:
Merino wool yarn

Merino wool yarn

This is more Shetland from the same UK source.
I Navajo plied this skein and ended up with a very sturdy, dense yarn. Not sure if this technique suits it.

Shetland wool yarn

Shetland wool yarn

That is all the news that’s fit to print for now.

Comments»

1. bitchnstitches - January 7, 2009

Okay, nevermind, please delete my previous comment. I got all comment-happy and didn’t read the post before where it is clearly obvious you spun the yarn yourself :)

Off to find some caffeine…

2. bitchnstitches - January 7, 2009

Whoa – my brain may explode. Do you wash all yarn before using? Or just handdyed? Or have I totally misunderstood?

PS very pretty, both of them. I love orange.The merino reminds me of a creamsicle.


Leave a Reply

