jump to navigation

Fiber. It stares at me. January 26, 2009

Posted by jeninmaine in dyeing, Etsy.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I bought a bunch of plastic bins (oh Rubbermaid how I love thee) because the great purge needs to happen. Maybe not purge so much as “Oh my GOD I need to go through all the crap I’ve been stacking up in this room and organize it before I go crazy.” It’s gotten really bad here in my craft room, or studio if you want to sound all pretentious about it. Fact of the matter is I can’t find a damned thing in here. I keep my back to it all day while I work so I’m able to block it out, but lately I’ve been able to feel it all staring at me. I’m hoping that I just need to take everything out and organize it, get rid of boxes and useless papers and things like that and miraculously there will be enough room for it all. Here’s hoping.

So I told myself I needed bins to start this task. I’m going to try and do it in logical steps, such as

Step 1: Take out all the yarn.
Step 2: Take out all the roving.
Step 3: Take out all the fabric.

Because logically the bulk of my craft supplies in here is yarn, roving, and fabric, so if I remove that what’s left is the chaff that can be mostly gotten rid of. Right? Oh, I hope so. I know I have other things in here that will need to be dealt with – books and leaflets and patterns I printed off the internet, one box of beading stuff, another of clay stuff, but that should all be manageable when separated out. But here I am, 11:20pm on a Sunday night and I still haven’t started. I’m afraid to start and then not be able to finish and have it all spread out over the parts of the house that ARE cleaned up and organized.

I need those folks from Clean Sweep or the staff that prepares the White House on Inauguration Day to come by, just for an afternoon.

Right, so anyway, that boring crap aside here’s some more boring crap.

With the new year I decided I need to start paying attention to my Etsy shop again. I’ve changed names for the third time but I think this one will stick, it’s the same name on my Ravelry account, my LiveJournal, my WordPress blog, so at least I’m being consistent now. My yarn just arrived home from its rollicking trip out West so I’ve been listing a few skeins at a time just to keep on top of things. Slow and steady wins the race as they say. I did decide, however, to keep my favorite and not sell it after all:

i make things hand-dyed yarn

i make things hand-dyed yarn

I’m not sure what I’ll do with it, yet, but I sure do love it.

The only photos I had of all that yarn were ones I took hurriedly on a rainy day in November so they kind of suck. I am far too obsessed with everything being perfect so I told myself, “Screw it, just use the damned pictures you have already” because if I wait to take NEW pictures and then edit THEM I’ll never post a damned thing. It’s hard for me to override this Virgo mentality. Nngh.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

