jump to navigation

Banana CakeMuffinBread February 20, 2009

Posted by jeninmaine in food.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Banana muffins

I made some more banana cake last night, in the form of muffins so the kids can take them to school/daycare. After investing a bunch of money around the holidays on silicon bakeware, it’s ironic that I’ve really come to love my coated aluminum Nordicware pans the best. Ever since I started using cooking spray with flour – I couldn’t find Baker’s Joy locally so I ended up with Pam with Flour – it has completely eliminated any sticking issues. I just have to be careful when I spray it because it tends to get everywhere. I also have to remember to wipe it off the surfaces of the pan that aren’t going to be filled with batter so it doesn’t bake on. Overall, though, I’m a convert. I guess I’ll save the silicon for soapmaking or donate it to GeeDub.

Nom.

Banana muffins

Recipes. Here’s the cake recipe, since I was asked for it – I used to make banana bread which has less flour and is heavier, but was never totally satisfied with the results. The cake, however, this will be my banana bread recipe from now on, it’s spot-on perfect. With a few edits, of course ;)

Banana CakeMuffinBread

2 cups flour
1 cup sugar (recipe calls for 1-1/2, but I don’t think it needs that much)
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup mashed banana
1/2 cup milk (it calls for buttermilk or sour milk but I never have those on hand)
1/2 cup butter (recipe calls for “shortening”, eugh)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla (I use a sploosh)

Combine dry ingredients and 1/2 tsp salt. Add banana, milk, butter, eggs, and vanilla. Beat on low until combined, then beat on medium for 3 minutes (very important!) Pour batter into whatever you’re baking it in – cake pans, muffin tins, Pyrex bowls, bake at 350 degrees (325 if using convection) for 30-35 minutes, test by poking with a knife. Cool on racks. Nom.

And of course no baked good would be complete without buttercream frosting! I use a standard recipe, more or less.

Buttercream Frosting

1/3 cup butter, soft
4-1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup milk
sploosh of vanilla

Beat butter until fluffy, add powdered sugar gradually and mix well in between. Slowly beat in liquid, adjusting amounts by how stiff or soft you want your frosting to be. Spread on cake if you want. Nom.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

