jump to navigation

Mmm, tasty bucket of fiber. March 10, 2009

Posted by jeninmaine in dyeing, Etsy, spinning.
trackback

Ugh, it’s been a while. I’m sick again – I don’t know if this is a continuation of the previous sick, or a whole new round of sick, but sick I am. I started getting congested late last week and spent the weekend feeling like crap. Today I’m still stuffed up and as a result can’t hear or smell very well. It’s like having a full fishbowl over my head. Needless to say it’s completely sapped any energy I might have had, I’ve just completely petered out.

Today it was really nice outside, it gave me hope for Spring.

So last week my big goal was to do some sort of dyeing-related activity in my spare time for 5 out of 7 days, which I did. The last day I didn’t do any actual dyeing but I rinsed and hung roving, so that counts. Somehow I’ve managed to lose about ten child-sized plastic hangers AND my niddy noddy. I have no idea how I managed to lose something that large but there you go. Anyway I am very pleased with how much I managed to get done. I didn’t show my progress pics of the last few bundles of roving I dyed – here they are all bedraggled on my porch:

Dyeing, ongoing

On the opposite side of the porch was that impressive icicle again – no matter how many times we knocked it down it would come back:

Icicle.

I didn’t realize the full scope of my work until I had it all laid out on the chest in the dining room. Not too shabby for three days’ work:

Final tally

I also took a picture of them all in my big bucket. Because buckets are cool. Husband Michael saw the bucket and said he “liked my bucket of yarn.” Sigh. :)

Bucket of fiber

I posed some nerdy D&D dudes in my fiber :)

Fen Hydra. I think I might use that for the colorway, it just happens to match.

Fen Hydra

Spectral Magelord. He would have looked a lot more badass if it weren’t for the country bumpkin wallpaper:

Spectral Magelord

Shadowhunter Bat:

Shadowhunter Bat

Magma Brute:

Magma Brute

That concludes my fiber for today. I did dye some more stuff this afternoon but it’s out on the porch probably freezing solid.

I don’t have a lot more to say right now – some cute things happened with the kids that I wanted to write down but never got around to, and now I can’t think of them. Once my head drains I’ll be a little better equipped to think straight.

Gonna go knit, then bed. Nighty night!

Comments»

1. Knit Witch - March 11, 2009

WOW! You have gotten a bunch of work done!!! I hope you feel better soon and for God’s sake – GET RID OF THOSE ICICLES!!!

2. trillian42 - March 10, 2009

I think you should TOTALLY name the colors for the D&D characters. They’re awesome, and I think those names would be a hoot.

Of course, that would be because I’m a total geek.


Leave a Reply

